Out West and Getting Things Done

Well, Kind of getting things done.

Hey everyone!

A.B. Queen here writing to you from out west today. Hanging out with some family near the Rockies for a few weeks.

What I Am Working On ✍️

The Curiosity Collection Book #2

I did not make any progress on this book for the week. Well, I should say that I didn’t make any written progress. I did make some changes in my mind to the story that I think will make it more…exciting and full.

The Curiosity Collection Book 2 Progress

The Curiosity Collection Book #4

Oh man, ok, so this book I am getting pretty pumped for. I am crossing over into the creepy form of storytelling, but the history I am building into the book is making me pretty nostalgic for the folklore stories I was always told as a kid. I have made some ok progress on this one through last week. Since I am on vacation right now, I expect to get a good amount written.

The Curiosity Collection Book 4 Progress

What I Have Learned 🧠

Egyptology

Well, I haven’t learned all of Egyptology. Far from it actually. Hell, I probably know 0.000000001% of Egyptology. Though, I have been listening to one of The Great Courses on Audible lately on the subject of Ancient Egypt. I am using it for some inspiration as much of the lore of my writings has stemmed from Egyptology. Actually, a fun fact, the antagonist in The Rings of Flight has some history with Egypt.

What I am Reading/Watching/Listening

Novels 📚

Currently reading/listening to a couple of different ones.

  • Steelheart - Brandon Sanderson (Audible/Finished)

  • Star Wars: Fatal Alliance (Paperback)

  • Timeline - Michael Crichton (Paperback)

Show/Movie 🎥

Catching up on some Soccer this week. Just watched the USA vs Canada game last night. However, we will be watching the replay of Croatia vs Spain later today. That’s the real game for me. My two favorite teams with Croatia being my ultimate favorite.

These matches always inspire my world-building and getting down to the detail of how sports work in a fictional realm.

Music 🎵

I don’t know why, but I have been obsessed with Peter Gabriel’s Sledgehammer this past week. I get so pumped every time that song comes on.

What Inspired Me

Antelope

As I was walking my pup this morning, my jaw dropped as I watched two antelope make their way through town. I have seen plenty of them out in the prairie, but to see them in town and mixed in with civilization was something of a sadness in beauty feeling. I couldn’t help but think of the destruction we have brought to their habitats. This was also piled on by some sad sights I saw yesterday with some other wildlife.

While this isn’t often seen as an inspiring outlook on life, it is for me. The sadness drives me to make change and to grow awareness for the creatures that need our help. It is my goal and dream to use my writing as a way to help preserve wildlife and animals of all kinds. Seeing this only pushed me that much further to my dreams.

My Item of the Week

Honestly, I think my favorite item of the week (well, more like all of the time) is the organization Red Rover. They are easily one of my favorite charitable organizations out there. Their mission to help animals in need is a mission close to my heart.

Please note that Red Rover has not sponsored or asked me to talk about them. I just really like their org and their mission.

Also,

I’m excited to announce that my book, The Curiosity Collection: The Rings of Flight, will be available as part of a promotion on Smashwords for the month of July as part of their Annual Summer/Winter Sale! This is a chance to get my book, along with books from many other great authors, at a discount so you can get right to reading.

You will find the promo here starting on July 1, so save the link:
https://www.smashwords.com/shelves/promos/

Please share this promo with friends and family. You can even forward this email to the avid readers in your life!

Thank you for your help and support!

Happy reading!

And if you haven’t picked up your copy of The Curiosity Collection: The Rings of Flight, and prefer a platform other than Smashwords, I have placed the links below:

The Rings of Flight by A.B. Queen